State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

89 posts / 0 new
Last post
Naran
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 5 months ago
Joined: 10/06/2004 - 12:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

[quote][b]Will legislators drive down sticker shock?[/b]
[i]A bill to make vehicle inspections good for two years rather than one pits safety concerns against convenience and cost. [/i]

By PAUL CARRIER, Staff Writer

January 11, 2008

AUGUSTA "” It's an annual rite for car and truck owners in Maine: a fingers-crossed trip to a service station, dealership or auto parts store for a sometimes-elusive sticker that proclaims the vehicle's road-worthiness for the next 12 months.

Now a legislator from South Portland wants to make vehicle inspections good for two years instead of one. [/quote]

[url=http://pressherald.mainetoday.com/story.php?id=161512&ac=PHnws]Source[/url]

DalekMagi
Offline
Last seen: 8 years 7 months ago
Joined: 02/16/2004 - 1:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

I believe this is a good idea. We aren't going to have any major accidents or deaths due to a 2-year inspection period. A lot of states don't have inspection, period.

John3:16
Offline
Last seen: 8 years 5 months ago
Joined: 01/02/2004 - 1:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

Make the good idea better. Eliminate the state inspection system once and for all, and eliminate the people from the state payroll who adminsiter it. If we are driving an unsafe car, and that unsafe condition causes an accident, we're responsible.

Rocky
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 3 months ago
Joined: 03/05/2005 - 1:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

I am all for doing away with inspections all together. There are some states that have no inspection, and don't seem to have much trouble.I have an idea who would complain the most about changing to two year inspections or doing away with inspection all together. (inspection stations)

DalekMagi
Offline
Last seen: 8 years 7 months ago
Joined: 02/16/2004 - 1:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

I agree, inspection is a waste, but we'd better look before we leap. In most states that don't have vehicle inspection, the State Police have the right to pull you over and perform an inspection on your car at any time. That's how they get around the "safety" issue. Do you really want Maine troopers pulling you over to make sure your parking brake works?

If we did abolish vehicle inspection, we'd need stipulations in the law to prevent the use of police as its replacement.

Rocky
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 3 months ago
Joined: 03/05/2005 - 1:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

Hey DM. The police do it now anyway. Most vehicle stops by police is for equipment initially. Then the harrasment starts.

John3:16
Offline
Last seen: 8 years 5 months ago
Joined: 01/02/2004 - 1:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

That being pulled over process has happened to me, already, albeit about 37 years ago, on the Airline (Route 9), between Calais and Bangor. State trooper misunderstood the peace sign hand gesture I gave him as we passed each other (in different directions), and the next thing I know, I'm on the side of the road while he's performing a safety inspection of my '61 Impala, which was fine, thank you very much. I eventually tired of the game, and as a 19 yr old guy who lacked a bit of maturity, I told him to end the foolishness and either ticket me or let me go on my way (while my part of the conversation was clean, it was a bit more colorful than that). He let me go, and I vowed there and then to not wave in any shape, manner or form, to the local gendarmes, as my friendly gesture might, once again, be misconstrued.

Robert
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 11 months ago
Joined: 04/01/2005 - 1:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

[quote="DalekMagi"]A lot of states don't have inspection, period.[/quote]

And most states do not dump liquid chemical on their roads by the 1000's of gallons. :wink:

jocko758
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 3 months ago
Joined: 10/04/2005 - 12:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

Unfortunately I beleive inspections are necessary fo the 10% of idiots would couldn't care less if their vehichle is leaking oil all over the place or what their exhaust system is belching out not to mention faulty brakes, broken shocks etc etc.
Inspections are not for the majority of us who keep our vehicles in working order.
Like most laws, they are forced to be written by the minority of people who would do whatever the hell they wanted to in the absence of laws. I mean most laws are common sense anyway aren't they?

If, for example, nobody ever went out during hunting season and shot 100 partridge we would need a law against would we?

David Hughes
Offline
Last seen: 7 years 7 months ago
Joined: 11/27/2001 - 1:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

ah, the tyranny of the minority lives on....

fullseptic
Offline
Last seen: 6 years 7 months ago
Joined: 01/25/2006 - 4:58pm
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

So if my Maine-State-Government arithmetic is correct:

A) cut the inspection requirement by half (half the car this year and half next year) and triple the cost

or

B) pay 4x as much to go 2x as long between inspections.

angler.k
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 3 months ago
Joined: 02/11/2006 - 1:19pm
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

If it were just a quick SAFETY inspection... breaks, lights etc Ok, but there's much more involved, and some of it's "opinion" that can go either way depending on if the shop is busy or not. Go to your local shop for tires and get their "free" safety check, I guarentee they can find something wrong with a new car. Yeah there are a few people who would push it too far, but most folks really don't want to drive with an unsafe car.
Go to 2 years and double the states take (that's the only way it will get approved) not having to go will more than make up for the extra cost.

And BTW you can't legislate away the actions of stupid people. It's easy to swap tires etc. to get past an inspection. The fewer laws the better.

FXSTC
Offline
Last seen: 2 years 2 months ago
Joined: 11/13/2003 - 1:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

Eventually we'll be forced to do emission checks again. Eliminate the safety check and just do emissions, plus, if there are any fault lights on, ABS, TPMS, etc, the car fails. The ECM "saves" these codes too, so crunching the lamp won't hide the fault. Our safety inspection is based on everyone driving 1955 Chevrolets, not the modern self-diagnostic autos of today. It's just a mechanics entitlement program.

Dennis
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 01/07/2006 - 12:10pm
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

Why not compromise? Have it every 2 years until the vehicle is--say 6 years old and from then on annually. I know this is too much of a "Nanny" state to do away with inspections entirely. I remember how much of a P.I.A. the twice-a-year inspections were. Too make it worse everyone's was the same--April and October.

Route26
Offline
Last seen: 6 years 12 months ago
Joined: 01/08/2008 - 3:03pm
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

Auto dealers won't support this... too many of them make money when they do inspections and find issues to fix whethter they need repair or not to offset the cost of lost time doing the job.

From a safety concern, every time the first snow flies there is always those share of fools that end up off the road into ditches, medians and other vehicles due to bald tires. Granted, there will always be those few that know the guy at garage down the street who will give out a sticker without putting a vehicle on the lift, but the way the State Police are keeping close tabs on inspection stickers these days, it's getting tough to do that now.

Calvin
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 05/15/2001 - 12:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

Some time ago I asked Tom C to start a "stupid law of Maine" thread. Well, on this subject we have one.
An inspection must be performed in a shop and the car up on a lift. That's reasonable enough. The inspection is supposed to be followed by a test drive. No problem there. Now the car must return to inside the shop to have the sticker applied to the windshield. Therefore no car can be put into the shop to start the next inspection while the first is on the test drive.
Police have watched inspection stations in gestapo fashion and given warnings about doing that. It is unjustly assumed that if the sticker is put on outside the shop that the car was never in the shop. Never mind the facts. If that is the police testimony, you loose.

Naran
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 5 months ago
Joined: 10/06/2004 - 12:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

I've observed my vehicle being inspected countless times. Not once was there a road test. Am I missing something?

Mike Lange
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 7 months ago
Joined: 12/26/2006 - 6:23am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

If you are, Naran, that makes two of us. :shock:

Doug Thomas
Offline
Last seen: 3 years 2 months ago
Joined: 08/29/1999 - 12:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

If your car is inspected inside and the mechanic road tested the vehicle and doesn't pull the car back inside to apply the sticker, but puts the sticker on outside, the garage can lose their inspection license.

On some model cars the inspection rules are so strict new cars won't pass if the shop goes by the book. Some models with a low tire indicator on the dash the light will come on if you put on a different brand tires of the same size... the car won't pass if the light is on.

The rules inspectors have to go by are written by bureaucrats that are convinced we're all criminals.

Then there are the garages that use the inspection license as a license to steal.

Then there are the people hired to enforce the rules who think they're god.

I could go on all day. It's a law with good intentions run amuck that needs a through overhaul.

Mark T. Cenci
Offline
Last seen: 9 hours 1 min ago
Joined: 03/13/2000 - 1:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

This has been studied. I remember reading somewhere (probably Reason magazine) that states with no inspections have no more or less accident/death rates than bedwetting states with nanny programs.

BlueJay
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 17 min ago
Joined: 04/18/2005 - 12:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

Doug, I hear all you're saying. It is really a nasty nest of loopholes and regulations. I emailed you earlier with my concerns about the corrosion caused by the liquid salt used on the roads here. That, plus the remaining fleet of aging vehicles on the road in Maine, makes me think that yearly inspections are merely a safety gauge for us all. :?

bryce
Offline
Last seen: 6 years 5 months ago
Joined: 06/10/2003 - 12:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

I think the inspection requirement is a ripoff. I really have a problem with the same place that does the inspection also being the one that can "fix" the always-found problem. Unfortunately, short of removing the inspection requirement, the only way around that problem is to have an independent inspection outfit that has no repair facilities. Seems to me the state went down that road in 1993 - anyone remember "Cartest"? Yup, the mechanic employment security act.

matt8888
Offline
Last seen: 2 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 10/14/2007 - 10:09am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

Two years ago I couldn't get an inspection sticker. I called 3 service stations and they all said the state was late with new inspection stickers and they were all out. People were pretty angry. So I was over due, and no one had inspection stickers. LOL.

Computer codes are even worse. As my car gets older, yes things are going to show wear. Having a computer that expects everything to act as "new" is dumb. Computer codes should not be a requirement for inspection.

Warning lights now come on for routine maintenance and you need a special code or way to turn it off. Does this make the car unsafe? NO! Its just an excuse to visit the dealer to turn the light off. Nothing is even wrong.

What next, computer code for dirty seats? Sorry sir, I cannot pass inspection, the computer code for dirty seats is on.

Go to a two year program or get rid of it all together. Yes, parts wear, but they are still good and safe.

LarryinAugusta
Offline
Last seen: 4 years 9 months ago
Joined: 05/25/2007 - 6:53pm
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

Why do you need an sticker on a new car that is covered by a warrenty. Isn't this just a waste of everyones time?

attic owl
Offline
Last seen: 1 week 4 days ago
Joined: 04/12/2000 - 12:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

Car inspection regimes hurt the poor. Cars that are otherwise serviceable must be taken off of the road. We should have no inspections, and rely on civil court for injury caused by defective autos.

BlueJay
Offline
Last seen: 2 hours 17 min ago
Joined: 04/18/2005 - 12:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

"We should have no inspections, and rely on civil court for injury [[b]and deaths! [/b]:!: ] caused by defective autos." I cannot agree.

Calvin
Offline
Last seen: 1 month 1 week ago
Joined: 05/15/2001 - 12:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

Ref. Doug Thomas above:

My latest inspection required new brake lines, not because they were bad but because they "showed" rust on the outside. The lines were replaced with stainless steel, they won't rust. But the new lines were put on without adequate mounting so they rub against eachother and in a sharp righthand turn the lines were rubbing on the steering assembly! FAILURE is built in!
But, I GOT MY STICKER!

DalekMagi
Offline
Last seen: 8 years 7 months ago
Joined: 02/16/2004 - 1:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

The idea that uninspected cars are going to cause some kind of surge in automotive deaths is just terror talk promoted by the state to keep us subservient to their corrupt bureaucratic system. It's the same mantra they use to justify gun laws. "Oh, if we don't keep permitting requirements, there'll be a bloodbath!" What a load of crap. Welcome to the inspection station, Comrade. Mr. Stalin will make sure your vehicle is in perfect shape, and certify you as safe for only a minor contribution to the glory of the State!

My vehicle inspection station doesn't go by the book, thank god. No test drives, and most of the time they don't use the lift. It's "honk the horn, turn on the lights, test the brakes," and sticker on. No, I won't tell you where I inspect, and they probably wouldn't be as lenient with your car if they don't know you.

leftout
Offline
Last seen: 7 years 4 months ago
Joined: 01/03/2006 - 9:06pm
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

First 5 years of a cars life - no sticker

sticker each two years after that

Mike Lange
Offline
Last seen: 1 year 7 months ago
Joined: 12/26/2006 - 6:23am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

[quote]No, I won't tell you where I inspect..[/quote]

Good thing. The state police read this forum, too. :D

Robert
Offline
Last seen: 5 years 11 months ago
Joined: 04/01/2005 - 1:01am
State Considers Two-Year Vehicle Inspection Stickers

[quote="Calvin"] But the new lines were put on without adequate mounting so they rub against eachother and in a sharp righthand turn the lines were rubbing on the steering assembly! [/quote]

And you didn't demand the garage make this right?

Pages

Log in to post comments